Reviews

 

רוצה לציין לשבח את האירוח המושלם ששהינו ב23.11.17
בצימר בכםר האומנים בצפת.
קיבלנו סוויטה מרהיבה ביופיה, מעוצבת בטוב טעם ורומנטית במיוחד, גדולה ומרווחת,והרגשנו תחושת ניתוק מהעיר וכניסה לטבע שקט ומרגיע.
בעלי הצימר המדהימים ג’וי ואבן קיבלו אותנו בחמימות אין קץ ובםנים שמחות.
השרות היה מושלם.
ממליצה בחום. ואין ספק שנחזור לשם שוב.
– Suzy & Arieh, Zichron Yaacov, Israel, November 1017

Hi, I just wanted to let you know that you were amazing hosts, the hike that your husband suggested was great and the breakfast was fantastic.
– Moshe, New York, NY, October 1017

We had an amazing time staying at your B&B and thank you for your hospitality.
– Ronit & Yitchak, Israel, August 1017

Thank you for everything. It was wonderful staying at your guesthouse. I look forward to visiting again in the next few years.
– Judith, Boston, MA, July 1017

Staying at the Artists Quarter was an incredible experience from start to finish. My husband and I stayed there for 4 nights with our 4 kids. Joy and Even are so warm and inviting. The physical space is absolutely beautiful and you can’t beat the location. It is close to all of the shops and places to eat as well as the Jewish quarter where all of the art and history are. Joy and Evan are very accommodating to anything you need and also completely set you up for shabbos. The breakfasts each day were so delicious and they really cater to all of your likes and dislikes. We feel like it is now a ‘home away from home’ and if you come to Tzfat you must stay here!!
– Deborah & Frank, NY, April 1017

5 stars!! We spent the most wonderful 3 days in Tzfat at the Artist Quarter Bed and Breakfast. Joy and Evan were the most wonderful hosts. We stayed over Shabbat and they had everything ready for us. They made us feel so welcome as if we were staying with family, and they were there to help with whatever we needed. The accomodation was cosy and comfortable, very clean and had a most special atmosphere. It was a truly memorable stay and we would highly recommend it.
– Lianne & Craig, Australia, April 1017

Artist Quarter guest house was wonderful. We were 4 adults and 3 children and we hired out both units which worked beautifully. The location was superb. The units were beautiful and spotless. The hosts were amazing. Breakfast was wonderful. All in I would highly recommend.
– Sean & Rene, Australia, April 1017

We stayed at the Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B for two nights. Both hostess Joy and host Evan were very personable and nice. They gave us sightseeing tips in Tzfat and detailed directions to get around which proved to be really helpful. Breakfast was delicious and they artsy house deco added a romantic touch to our trip. 
– Jin & Wang, CA, March 1017

Joy and Evan, Thank you for your gracious hospitality. We loved our time with you and at your B and B.
– Greg, Phoenix, AZ, April 1017

We stayed in the Artist Quarter Guesthouse for one night. We had a wonderful time. The room was beautiful, neat and clean, and very well cared for. I can’t even describe the beauty of the room and courtyard. The owners are kind and helpful, and Joy gave us a delicious breakfast. We enjoyed our stay, and it was the highlight of our visit to Tzfat.
– Gloria & Simon, NY, March 1017

We spent 3 nights at the Guesthouse and loved the room, location and most of all, Evan and Joy. Evan and Joy gave us a warm welcome and were extremely helpful with suggestions on what to visit, directions and the like. The Guesthouse building is hundreds of years old and you feel the history of the place. The room was extremely comfortable and well appointed. Once we figured out how to walk to different parts of the old town we realized that the Guesthouse had the perfect location to Old City points of interest. I cannot imagine a nicer place to stay or more friendly hosts in Tzfat.
– Bill & Marianne, MA, March 1017

Just came back from Safed, we were at this amazing artist quarter guesthouse for a weekend, i must say it was a beautiful experience! stunning room, clean and nice. The service was awesome! Whoever is looking for a place to stay should definitely consider this one!
– Rifky, Boro Park, NY, July 2016

We want to thank you for your hospitality and for making our stay in Tzfat so special. You took care of all the details, small and large, and we have a wonderful time although it was short. Thanks again.
– Nancy & Neal Steiner, CA, July 2016

Thank you Joy & Evan! We had a wonderful stay in Tzfat. Your B&B is absolutely beautiful. We really loved spending time in the beauty you created!
– Laura & Michael, VM, April 2016

Hello Joy and Evan, Shalom from NY. I wanted to thank you again for hosting us in Tsfat and having as guests in your warm and welcoming home! We had an incredible time in Tsfat, it was truly an inspiring and warming experience for us, and a highlight of our time in Israel. Thank you for enriching it for us!
– Lana Ifraimova, New York, NY, April 2015

Thank you for making our stay so pleasant and beautiful. Kol Tov.
– Robin & Pamela Pastore, Boston, MA, March 2015

Dear Joy and Evan, A short note to send you a big thank you for your openness and generosity. Back in Nice, our minds and hearts are still full of our time in Zefed and all the wonderful people we met through you. Blessings. Bon chemin!
– Denis & Dorothy Fox, Nice, France, March 2015

Joy and Evan’s B&B suite was gorgeous and spacious. A fantastic place to stay to experience the history, beauty and spirituality of Tzfat. The guesthouse is located right in the heart of the Artist’s Quarter and close to all the historic synagogues and the old City attractions. To top it off, the freshly prepared food by Joy herself was delicious and healthy.
– Marianne Rack, San Diego, CA, March 2015

When we wanted a very special place for our newlyweds we immediately thought of Joy Strausses Artist Quarter Guesthouse in Tzfat. Joy’s fine taste and warm welcoming attitude combined with the “let’s make this perfect” attitude made it an easy choice. Our kids came back and thanked us and told us, “It was like a palace”. What an amazing place for them to create special memories.
– Chaya Ben Baruch, Tzfat, Israel, November 2014

Thanks so much for a wonderful Shabbat; the accommodations are inspiringly beautiful!
– Sandy & Benyamin Epstein and Family, Montreal, Canada, May 2014

Thank you! For the great hospitality. You have a wonderful place. We had a lovely time.
– Liora Perez and Family, Lower Galilee, Israel, March 2014

A fantastic place to stay. we absolutely loved our time with Joy and Evan. their place is lovely and a fantastic location in a wonderful city. we could not have been happier. a definite must visit on your trip to israel.
– David & Judy Berman, Washington D.C., January 2014

My family of five stayed in the Artist Quarter Guesthouse run by Joy and Evan Strauss for four nights. The clean rooms were tastefully designed, spacious, and comfortable. Joy and Evan were eager to please and provided excellent service. We highly recommend their suite to any family looking to spend a few nights in Tzfat.
– Heshy & Aviva Willig, Flatbush, NY, July 2013

Words are insufficient in describing my experience at the Artist Quarter Guesthouse just a couple of weeks ago. Joy welcomed me personally, helped orient me to the beautiful, soulful tzimmer as well as Tzfat. Evan guided me on a most amazing hike of spiritual sites near Meron filled with wonderful story-telling and interesting facts What a profound experience! The tzimmer is incredibly comfortable and yest awe-inspiring! It reflects the nature of the Strauss’ and set the tone for my time in Tzfat. Joy and Evan (and their sweet children) are most gracious hosts, thoughtful and accommodating. Highly recommend as the other comments do.
– Melissa Glassey, Denver, CO, September 2012

We have just spent a glorious Shabbat with Joy and Evan Strauss and the Artist Quarter Guesthouse, and it was an amazing and wonderful experience. We stayed with our two young children in the new suite (and were amazed by how many pieces of furniture turned into beds. We could have easily brought four children!). The main bedroom is gorgeous with its stone walls and domed ceiling, and the Strauss’s have taken great care in decorating it, and making sure guests have everything they need. Our children befriended their children, and we spent wonderful time comparing notes on Jewish belief and practice, and parenting, with our hosts. They have successfully hosted everyone from non-Jews and completely secular Jews to the most exacting Haredi guests, and seem simply delighted to be able to offer an entry point to experiencing Tsefat, and a deliciously comfortable one at that. Speaking of delicious, we were very glad to have pre-ordered Shabbat dinner since we were arriving in the late afternoon on Friday, and it was delicious. We’re vegetarians, but so is Evan!, and we had grilled tofu, pasta with an incredible homemade pesto, homemade hummous, and more. The room was ready with fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, etc. Plenty for the four of us during our stay! After Havdallah on Saturday night, I was delighted to experience a massage from Joy, who is very talented, and makes the session not only physically rejuvenating and relaxing, but spiritually healing. We recommend the Strauss’s tzimmer–-and particularly the suite–-wholeheartedly! In fact, whole-hearted is how we’re leaving Tsefat, thanks in large part to our hosts.
– Minna Scherlinder Morse, Washington DC, June 2012

We were fortunate enough to find the Artist Quarter Guesthouse B&B and to meet our hosts. Betty enjoyed the massage so very much and we had the good fortune to have Evan share his knowledge with a wonderful hike on Mt. Meron. The Shabbat meal that Joy prepared was fantastic and the setting cannont be dupicated. Most certainly a wonderful place to return to on any furture journey’s to Safed.
– Jim Line, Drummond Island, MI, May 2012

Staying at the Artist Quarter Guesthouse was the highlight of our month long, awe inspiring trip to the middle east. We can’t say enough about the Strauss’ hospitality. They give new meaning to the word.
– Nancy Swanson, Bozeman, MT, April 2012

A magical place to stay.
– Betsey Tirk Coleman, Denver, CO, March 2012

An authentic Tzefas vibe brushes over you as soon as you step into the Strauss family’s welcome. The rooms are clean and neat and feel like a place forgotten by the wilderness of modern civilization (pun intended, if a weak one:-). Evan Yisrael & Joy prepared the food themselves and set us up with a hot plate (“blech” in Yiddish) for Shabbos. The food was fresh and tasty and proudly homemade! It was the most memorable part of our trip. Thank you both!
– Chana & Mayer Silver, Borough Park, NY, March 2012

Stayed at the Guesthouse for Shabbas and it was amaaaazing. Owners are very warm, pleasant, and very welcoming people. Place was on the level of a 5 star hotel in US. If I am back in Tzfat this is the place where I am staying again. Thank you very much for accommodating us.
– Gennadiy Elikman, Chicago, IL, February 2012

We were in Tzfat last week for one day. We stayed at the Artist Quarter Guesthouse, which was recommended by our tour guide. The Guesthouse is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the standard room, but we also saw the suite. Both are gorgeous, with stone domed ceilings, arch windows and Moroccan lamps. The bed was even more comfortable than our bed at home. Lovely pillows and duvet, too. It may seem like a minor thing, but most places we stayed in Israel had beds of a much lower standard. The owners are a lovely family with adorable kids. They live next door. Joy made delicious home-baked goodies and the best granola I’ve ever had. The Artist Quarter Guesthouse was the nicest place we stayed in Israel, and nowhere near the most expensive. I couldn’t recommend it more highly.
– Reen, London, January 2012

Spent Shabbat in the new suite and we were delighted with everything. The beds in the bedroom were really comfortable and the room was warm and cozy. The living room was bright and airy. Hosts Joy and Evan Yisrael are lovely and did everything to make us feel comfortable. Would go back again very happily.
– Deborah Berzan, Ra’anana, December 2011

Beautiful B&B, charming hosts, very accommodating. Great location.
– Shoshana Meerkin, Jerusalem, November 2011

If you are planning a trip to tsfat, your very best bet for a tzimmer is the Artist Quarter Gueshouse: beautiful and spotlessly clean accomodations, warm, generous and child-friendly hospitality and delicious healthful food.
– Eva (Chava) Weiss, Jerusalem, November 2011

Our stay in Tzfat was that much more wonderful because we spent it with Joy and Evan Yisrael Strauss at their Bed & Breakfast. They are a lovely couple and their personal attention to our well being and comfort was special. Their room was recently built and has a fresh feeling. The place is immaculate, with attention to every detail. The beds are American made and very comfortable with plush linens. The room is bright and sunny and a heater/AC is provided for extra warmth. An adjacent courtyard is and added plus. The breakfast and catered Shabbat meal were delicious and healthy. It was a lovely experience overall. One we will never forget.
– Mendel & Dina Hirsch, New York, November 2011

I was looking for a hotel to stay in while visiting Safed, when I discovered that for even less money, I was able to stay in the Artist Quarter Guesthouse, which had much more character and was far more beautiful than the other hotels I was contemplating staying in. I found out about it through www.atisrael.com. I stayed in the standard-size unit last year with my wife. We were so pleased with our accommodation, we returned this year and stayed in their newly renovated suite. It was gorgeous and spacious. And when we return next year we plan to stay at the Artist Quarter Guesthouse again.
– Doug Smith, California, CA Septmeber 2011

My massage with Joy was an amazing gift I gave myself. I have been experiencing massages on a regular basis since the 80′s by professionals, so I consider myself a “knowledgeable massage judge.” Joy gave me a total body massage, with no parts untouched, from the sacrum to the pinky toes. I felt reborn, renewed, regenerated. These results stayed with me for many days. The craniosacral therapy opened me to many positive enlightened insights. Thank You Joy.
– Margo Mintzer, Florida, October 2011

A fantastic place to stay for anyone interested in experiencing the history, beauty and spirituality of Tzfat. The Guesthouse is perfectly located right in the heart of the Artist’s Quarter and an easy ten minute walk to all the historic synagogues and other attractions in the Old City. The room is beautifully decorated and spacious, and Joy and Evan do an excellent job of being on hand to help with all their guests requirements whilst simultaneously ensuring privacy and a relaxing stay. For us personally, the couple were a huge help when it came to Yom Tov necessities since we arrived just before Simchat Torah, providing us with a time-switch, Shabbat-friendly urn and hot-plate. We spent almost a month in Israel and I can safely say that the Artist’s Quarter Guesthouse was one of the best accommodation choices we made.
– Daniel & Emily Benedyk, London, October 2011

As two busy New York City professionals, my husband and I were looking for the perfect summer retreat in Israel, we hit the jackpot with Joy & Evan Yisrael Strauss and the Artist Quarter Guesthouse. Their beautiful tzimmer provided a real home base for us. Each day for two weeks we made the short 15 minute walk across the Old City to Ascent of Tzfat for our daily learning. From there we took day trips and discovered exciting programs and events around the city. Each night we returned home to a clean & cozy guesthouse. The stunning dome ceiling, stained glass chandelier and door provided the authentic and inspiring Tzfat charm, but Joy and Evan Yisrael were the true inspiration–their genuine hospitality and open nature helped us confirm our decision to make Aliyah! The highlight of our stay at the guesthouse was shabbas in Tzfat. The town had all the holy shuls we could ask for, and the tzimmer had everything we needed too. We loved the delicious, mehadrin shabbas meals made by Joy. Her flavored menu helped make our shabbas meals extra special. I would definitely recommend the Artist Quarter Guesthouse to anyone looking for a real Tzfat experience.
– Tzipi Sutin, New York, August 2011

I am a professionnal Guide in Israel and the Artist Quarter Guesthouse is one of the most beautiful guesthouses (Zimmer) I know–amazing energy, serenity and real kindness. I warmly recommand it to anyone who wants to spend time in Sfat.
– Judith Nataf, Discover Israel Customize Guiding, Tel Aviv, July 2011

The guesthouse was beautiful–a wonderful mix of old and new–and the location was perfect, giving us easy access to all that Tzfat has to offer the visitor. Joy and Evan prepared a delicious Shabbat dinner for our family, which we enjoyed under the stars in their beautiful courtyard. We truly enjoyed our stay at the Artist Quarter Guesthouse, and left Tzfat feeling refreshed although a little sad to be leaving our wonderful hosts.
– Francine Smith & Daniel, Matthew and Adam Echelman, Massachusetts, June 2011

Spiritual direction is usually a verbal form of communication that creates a path to explore one’s inner connection to Hashem/God. Through massage, Joy Strauss, brings this communication to a higher level. Her ability to channel the ruach/spirit into her hands and release the tension and toxins that are pooled in your body blocking this path is amazing! Her kavanah/intention is held in every motion and every touch and as such you will experience, as I did, not only a physical release but a spiritual one as well. This woman is truly a vessel of Hashem and a massage with her is an encounter you will never forget.
– Rivkah Pinsker, Jerusalem, June 2011

For those who are looking for a combination of holiness, spirituality, comfort, cleanliness and a warm atmosphere–look no further than the Artists Quarter Guesthouse, belonging to Joy and Evan Israel Strauss of Tzefat. My wife and I just spent a few nights over Pesach (our kids were at friends near the Yosef karo shul) at their delightful and cosy unit in a beautiful courtyard close to the artists colony and near the shopping strip of Tzefat. To add a nice touch, Joy is also an accomplished cook and so one can place an order for Shabbat or chag meals. If my wife (a top class cook in her own right) can ask for 2 recipes, Joy Strauss must be doing something right!! Thanks and Kol HaKavod. I definately recommend their quaint courtyard and guesthouse. G-d willing they will be opening a bigger guesthouse in the courtyard for families. So the next time you want to be in Tzefat, call them–Strausses at the Artists Quarter Guesthouse.
– Daniel Luria, Jerusalem, April 2011

This guesthouse (tzimmer) is just beautiful! The guest rooms are created within hundred’s of year old stone–with high ceilings, natural light and their original arches. The rooms are very clean and comfortable (especially the beds.) They provide modern amenities, such as a tea pot, while allowing guests to sleep in an historical and spiritually uplifting space. The family that lives here is just wonderful–loving, kind and helpful! When I return the Tzfat this is my first place choice to stay!
– Andrea Fisher, New Jersey, April 2011

A very peaceful place with wonderful atmosphere and energy. Restored traditional home in a quiet section of Tzfat is a comfortable place to relax after a day of touring around. Delightful owners are very helpful and welcoming. Great place for couples or those with kids too.
– Eric Atkins, US Embassy in Amman, Jordan, April 2011

By now, the twenty-first century, the ability to give a high level massage is a work of art. It’s not enough to know ‘how to’ or have the table and oils. Even a diploma on the wall is no guarantee of success. What is essential, I have learned, is a listening, open heart. For when a person touches my body, she also nurtures my spirit. When I feel comfortable enough to release my tears, groans or giggles, I know I am in a rare space. Joy Strauss is no ordinary massage therapist. Her inclusion of the presence of God made the time sacred and insured my well being as the end product. Thank you Joy!
– Michelle Friedman, Jerusalem, April 2011

A lovely decorated room in a charming and delightful town. The private room has been completely renovated with a beautiful vaulted domed ceiling. The owners, Evan and Joy, are most gracious. Evan was very helpful in our trying to contact a Kurdish restaurant on the Lebanese border. Highly recommend this home.
– Ellen Walton, New Mexico, March 2011

A delightful place and a wonderful atmospheric room. Evan and Joy were lovely and the most welcoming and helpful hosts. I look forward to returning.
– Barbara Cohen, New York, February 2011

We just came back from an amazing Shabbat at Joy and Evan Strauss’ guesthouse and we enjoyed every minute of it! The guesthouse’s perfect location close to all the sites of Tzfat enabled us to explore the city at our convenience while the special ambiance inside the beautifully renovated zimmer enabled us to fully enjoy our time spent “at home.” To top it all off, the Strausses were just as pleasant and welcoming as the zimmer itself. All in all, we would definitely recommend the Strausss’ guesthouse for an ideal vacation in Tzfat.
– Daniel and Sharon Yelenik, Beit Shemesh, Israel, January 2011

Every woman deserves her own oasis. For a quiet, light-filled experience that will bring restoration to even the most calloused of midlife moms, I recommend renting Joy and Evan Yisrael Struass’ zimmer. In this bright, warm, self-contained space, an ergonomically-friendly, king-sized bed, a soothing pot of tea and a shower with enough hot water to satisfy every ache, make for a memorable getaway. Plus, Joy and Evan Yisrael are gracious hosts who can direct you to enough shuls, parks, bookstores and shops to make your visit to the Tsfat the vacation of your dreams. 

If a restful chamber is not enough to send you home singing, I also recomment Joy’s massage. Both skilled and intuitive, Joy Strauss will tend your minor, as well as your more significant, imbalances, using both herb-scented oil and a backround of healing music. An hour under her ministrations is better than an entire day at the gym, at the beach, or in an ice cream parlor.
– KJ Hannah Greenberg, Jerusalem, January 2011

Very beautiful. You transformed the place! Looking forward to revisit.
– Avia Rotlevy, California, January 2011

This space is so magical. My husband and I stayed here for Shabbat, and it was just perfect for us. The beds can be slid together to make a king size bed, and the mattresses were firm but padded and very comfortable. When you wake up in the morning the first thing you see is the beautiful stonework of the arching dome above you, and the sun streaming in the windows from the courtyard. We had everything we needed: the shower was very comfortable, there was closet space for our bags, and fresh running water in the kitchenette to drink and wash with. Most of all the beauty of this place and of Joy and Evan’s family made our Shabbat in Tzfat one of great peace and great joy. I highly recommend this guest house.
– Miriam (Martha) OrHai Black, Wisconsin, December 2010

My husband and I spent two weeks last year and one week this year in this wonderful guesthouse in the Artist Quarter of the mystical city of Tzfat, the source of the Kabbalah. The recently renovated house, kitchenette, and bathroom are well designed and immaculate. The walls and domed ceiling of the space are of stone, so you have a feeling you are in ancient Tzfat. The guesthouse is run by an extremely friendly and helpful family who make you feel at home and will provide kosher meals for you on Shabbat. Excellent quality at a modest price!
– Judith Zyskind, California, October 2010

Dear Joy and Evan, we are thinking back of our time in your Zefat guesthouse and how much we loved our stay and our time in Zefat. A highlight for me was our experience at the Baharav shul, purchasing some beautiful local artwork and jewelry, and our catching up with a special friend and her family as well as just enjoying the feeling of being in your place. It is so convenient where you are located and once a step is made behind your blue door, one enters a very peaceful space indeed. It was certainly enough room for our small family of three. Thank you for all your hospitality, suggestions, directions, and generally friendly service. It was nice to experience a bit of Californian-style hospitality after the incessant drone of our GPS all the ‘honks’ and ‘beeps’ on the road driving up through Israel! Todah Rabah.
– Marc Zweier, Australia, October 2010